What does Obama’s reelection mean?

As all of you know, Barack Obama has won the 2012 presidential eletion on November 6th, which means he will take charge of the White House for four more years. Just when he won the eletion, Obama posted an image tweet in which he hugged his wife Michelle Obama tightly.  I can tell the excitement from his face, but also a bit of anxiety underneath.

Since in the past four years, Obama has been through a tough time in his political life because of the bad economy, he was not striked down. As a president, he survived the hard time and tried many positive ways to defer the negative effects of the depression. So before the election day, I have thought of the result that Obama will continue his term of office. He may not be the best person to make every effort to save a desperate situation but compared with Romney who shows an aggressive image in front of the public, Obama is still the hero in most of the American citizens’ hearts.

Standing at my position, as an international student studying in the US, I know Obama’s reeletion is  a better result than letting Romney take the place of him. Because Romney has said to be strict to some foreign countries including China. He thought China is a great threat to the US as well as to the world so he promised to adopt a series of measures to restrain China’s development. It is such a ridiculous assessment that makes me angry. So I don’t like him at all. But I’m not saying I like everything that Obama advocates, I just think Obama is a better choice than Romney.

To be mature enough, I know the promises made in the campaign can not all be realized. Just like the advertisements, beautiful but not veracious. I congratulate Obama, but I wanna see what’s actually going on in the next four years. Good luck President Obama.

Reference:Obama Wins a Clear Victory, but Balance of Power Is Unchanged in Washington

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/11/08/us/politics/a-divided-nation-keeps-the-status-quo.html

Leave a comment